(Sandy) Alex G - Rocket - 2017 Lo-Fi Indie Rock 180 Grm LP

In stock

(Sandy) Alex G ‎– Rocket

Domino Recording Co. Ltd. ‎– WIGLP398X
Vinyl, LP
19 May 2017
Lo-Fi, Indie Rock, Folk Rock


A1 Poison Root
A2 Proud
A3 Country
A4 Bobby 03:42
A5 Witch 02:40
A6 Horse
A7 Brick

B1 Sportstar
B2 Judge
B3 Rocket
B4 Powerful Man
B5 Alina
B6 Big Fish
B7 Guilty



Standard edition of the album housed in gatefold jacket, includes MP3 download card.


Before there was Car Seat Headrest, the hyper-productive bedroom-recording hero of Bandcamp was a guy named Alex G, aka Alex Giannascoli, aka Sandy. As of April, he’s now officially known as (Sandy) Alex G.

Giannascoli, from Philadelphia, spent the early ‘10s cranking out fuzzy, guitar-driven folk-pop whose lo-fi nature couldn’t contain its creator’s natural knack for a memorable melody. He bounced around from label to label and built up a big following on Bandcamp, breaking out a bit with 2014’s DSU and then signing to Domino Recording Co. for 2015’s Beach Music.

But his new album Rocket comes with a significant bump in interest and attention thanks to Frank Ocean, who recruited Giannascoli to play on his two 2016 albums, Endless and Blonde. Now, (Sandy) Alex G has become widely known as “Frank Ocean collaborator (Sandy) Alex G” in headlines on music websites.

But Giannascoli’s work stands on its own, never more so than on Rocket, a 14-track travelogue of the 24-year-old’s varied interests. The album has been called Giannascoli’s country album, and there are a handful of songs that make prominent use of banjo (“Poison Root”) and violin (“Bobby,” the title track). No doubt about it, these songs leap from the speakers, thanks not only to Giannascoli’s generally easygoing way with a tune, but also violinist Molly Germer’s vibrant parts. Her rustic fiddle curlicues make “Powerful Man” one of Rocket’s highlights.

But the ever-restless Giannascoli never stays twangy for long. Just as often, his obvious Elliott Smith influence shines through, as on the dimly lit “Judge,” the stark and sinister “Big Fish,” and “Proud,” with its resolute pace and light keyboard touches. “Wish I could be strong like you,” he sings in the latter. “Wish I had something to prove.” For years, this has been Giannascoli’s primary lane, and he is perfectly comfortable here: weary, bittersweet, exquisitely crafted but eminently relatable. He is a worthy of a place in Smith’s aesthetic lineage.

Elsewhere, however, Giannascoli is in exploratory mode. “Witch” and “Alina” are shimmering dream-pop trips, and “Horse” sounds like an experiment in loosely organized, not-so-harsh noise. On the other hand, “Brick” veers toward industrial electro-punk, and “Sportstar” is a glistening slice of piano-powered robot-pop."

More Information
Condition New
Format LP, 180 Gram
Label Domino Records
Color Black