Antonio (Chocolate) Diaz Mena ‎– Eso Es - 1963 Latin Jazz ...Man! 1963 Latin Jazz LP

In stock

Antonio (Chocolate) Diaz Mena* ‎– Eso Es Latin Jazz ...Man!

Audio Fidelity ‎– AFSD 6117
Record label is silver with black text.
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Record VG++
Coiver VG++
Jazz, Latin
Afro-Cuban Jazz, Afro-Cuban

A1 Tin Tin Deo
Written-By – D. Gillespie*
A2 Pega Joso
Written-By – Mena Schifrin
A3 Mambo Jazz Opus 7
Flute – Jerome Richardson,
A4 Take Five
Written-By – Weed*
A5 Kush
Written-By – D. Gillespie*
A6 Harlem Nocturne


B1 Con Alma
Written-By – D. Gillespie*
B2 Caravan
Written-By – Ellington*, Tizol*
B3 Green Dolphin Street
B4 Poinciana
B5 Gozando El Guaguanco
B6 What Kind Of Fool Am I
Written-By – Newley*
Written-By [Uncredited] – Leslie Bricusse



Companies, etc.
Published By – Matador Music
Published By – Robbins Music
Published By – American Academy Of Music, Inc.
Published By – Leo Feist, Inc.
Published By – E. B. Marks
Published By – Ludlow Music
A&R, Producer – Sidney Frey
Arranged By, Conductor – Duke Pearson, Felipe Yanez (tracks: B5, B6), Lalo Schifrin
Bass – Frank Schifano (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), M. Cranshaw (tracks: A1 To A6, B1 To B4)
Congas – Antonio Mena*, Carlos Valdez* (tracks: A1 To A6, B1 To B4), Jorge Topia (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), Miguel Avila (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6), Ramon Sardinas, Victor Allende (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6)
Drums – Reynaldo Fernandez (tracks: B5, B6), Rudolph Collins (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6), Walter Perkins
Guitar – Frank Mercado (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6)
Piano – Duke Pearson (tracks: A1 To A6, B1 To B4), Felipe Yanez (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6)
Saxophone – Alfred Gibbons* (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), Jerome Richardson (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6), Joseph Henderson* (tracks: A1 To A6, B1 To B4), Seldon Powell (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6)
Saxophone, Flute – Lion Wrong (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6)
Trombone – Britt Woodman (tracks: A4, B1 To B4)
Trumpet – Alesandra Vivar (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), Alfredo Armenteros* (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), Clark Terry (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6), John Coles* (tracks: A1 To A6), Mario Fernanez (tracks: A1 To A3, A5, A6, B5, B6), Richard Williams (tracks: A1 To A6, B1 To B4)

Rights Society: BMI


Liner Notes – Nat Hentoff

Original stereo release of this album from master percussionist Antonio Chocolate Diaz Mena.

Percussionist Antonio (Chocolate) Diaz Mena is billed as the band leader on this album fusing jazz and Latin musical idioms, although it features selections arranged and conducted by Duke Pearson, Lalo Schifrin and Felipe Yanez. "Chocolate" was a leading Latin percussionist who played with Perez Prado, Max Roach and Cab Calloway.

Afro-Cuban jazz with some legendary musicians including: Antonio Diaz Mena a.k.a. "Chocolate" on conga with Alejandro "El Negro" Vivar, Alfredo "Chocolate" Armenteros, Johnny Coles, Richard Williams, Carlos "Patato" Valdez, Victor "Papo" Allende, Jorge Tapia, Miguel Avila and others. Ramon Quian "Monguito" sings on "Gozando el Guaguancó". Superb arrangements by Lalo Schifrin, Duke Pearson and Felipe Yanez

More Information
Condition Used
Format LP
Label Audio Fidelity
Color Black