Ariana Grande ‎– Sweetener - 2018 R+B Pop - Sealed 180 Grm 2LP

In stock

Ariana Grande ‎– Sweetener

Republic Records ‎– B0028815-01
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold

24 Oct 2018
Hip Hop, Pop
Contemporary R&B, Dance-pop, Vocal


1 Raindrops (An Angel Cried) 0:37
2 Blazed
Featuring – Pharrell Williams
3 The Light Is Coming
Featuring – Nicki Minaj
4 R.E.M 4:05


5 God Is A Woman 3:17
6 Sweetener 3:28
7 Successful 3:47


8 Everytime 2:52
9 Breathin 3:18
10 No Tears Left To Cry 3:25
11 Borderline
Featuring – Missy Elliott


12 Better Off
Producer – Brian Malik Baptiste*, Hitboy*
13 Goodnight N Go
Producer – Charles Anderson (10), Michael Foster*
14 Pete Davidson
Producer – Charles Anderson (10)
15 Get Well Soon


Companies, etc.

" Grande co-wrote more songs than usual (10 out of 15) and formed a clear bond with Pharrell, who serves as a songwriter and producer across Sweetener’s stronger half. His funk-lite idiosyncrasies set a bright tone and help elevate the record’s more conventional song structures. Grande and Williams leave themselves plenty of room to play around with texture in clever ways, particularly when it comes to layered vocals and skittering percussion. Set to little more than panting, tongue clicks, and keyboard orbs, “R.E.M” finds novel ways for Grande to expand her vocal repertoire. Singing in a stream of consciousness style about the man in her dreams, she flows in and out of R&B crooning, doo-wop vocal runs, gospel harmonizing, cheeky sing-talking, and a surprisingly precise rap flow (“‘Scuse me, um? I love you/I know that’s not the way to start a conversation, trouble”). She doesn’t even need a money note to stamp her mark.

The non-Pharrell tracks come courtesy of past Grande collaborators like Max Martin, ILYA, and TB Hits, and largely tap into the ongoing trap influence on the Top 40. Not one of them is outright filler, but an ode to a toxic ex like “everytime” is markedly less original—the kind of bad-decision-making set to ominous thumping that’s all over the charts. Grande’s got her own new rules, though: She tweaks the daydreaming of Imogen Heap into the throbbing EDM twinkle of “goodnight n go” and turns the melancholy of Drake into a meditation on anxiety with “breathin.” Neither is a direct extension of her work with Williams, but both feel like natural fits on an album all about finding the light.

Grande may have delivered more of a full-album vibe than a bangers-filled juggernaut, but there is at least one career-defining moment here—the song she has been looking for, wrapped in an unassuming package. Sweetener ends with “get well soon,” the sort of freeform, self-help soul ballad you’d maybe expect to round out a Beyoncé opus' ( pitchfork) 

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Color Black