B.E.F. - Music Of Quality And Distinction Volume 1 - - 80`s Electro Synth-Pop LP

In stock
B.E.F. - Music Of Quality And Distinction Volume 1

Label: Virgin
Catalog#: V 2219
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album

Canada Issue Original ( see our pic of label)
Record is VG++
Cover has minor wear only ( see pic)
Country: UK
Released: 1982
Genre: Electronic
Style: Synth-pop
Credits: Arranged By - Ian Craig Marsh , Martyn Ware
Artwork By [Layout] - Ken
Artwork By [Packaging Design] - B.E.F.
Backing Vocals - Hereafter, The (tracks: A1 to A4, B1, B2, B4)
Drum Programming [Linndrum] - Martyn Ware (tracks: A1 to A4, B1, B3, B5)

Synthesizer [Roland Jupiter 4] - Martyn Ware (tracks: A3, B1, B2, B4)
Synthesizer [Roland Vocoder Plus] - Martyn Ware (tracks: A2, A3, B3)
Synthesizer [Synclavier 2] - Martyn Ware (tracks: A3, A4, B3)
Notes: All tracks are covers, produced by B.E.F.

(p) 1982 Virgin Records Ltd.

Side A

1 Tina Turner - Ball of Confusion (That's What the World Is Today)
Composed by: Strong, Whitfield

2 Billy MacKenzie - The Secret Life of Arabia
Composed by: Alomar, Bowie, Eno

3 BEF, Paul Jones - There's a Ghost in My House

4 BEF, Paula Yates - These Boots Are Made for Walkin'

5 Gary Glitter - Suspicious Minds

Side B

6 BEF, Bernadette Nolan - You Keep Me Hangin' On

Composed by: Dozier, Holland, Holland

7 Glenn Gregory - Wichita Lineman
Composed by: Webb

8 Sandie Shaw - Anyone Who Had a Heart
Composed by: Bacharach, David

9 Glenn Gregory - Perfect Day

10 Billy MacKenzie - It's Over

A1 Tina Turner - Ball Of Confusion (3:50)
Guitar [Distorted], Guitar [Rhythm] - Nevil 'Breeze' McKreith
Guitar [Intro] - John McGeoch
Harmonica - Paul Jones
Lead Vocals - Tina Turner
Programmed By [Roland System 100] - Ian Craig Marsh , Martyn Ware
Saxophone - David 'Baps' Baptiste
Trombone - Nathaniel 'Nat' Augustin
Trumpet - Canute 'Kenny' Wellington
Written-By - B. Strong , N. Whitfield
A2 Billy MacKenzie - The Secret Life Of Arabia (4:00)
Bass - Jo Dworniak
Guitar [Rhythm] - Nevil 'Breeze' McKreith
Lead Vocals - Billy MacKenzie
Written-By - Eno , Carlos Alomar , Bowie
A3 Paul Jones - There's A Ghost In My House (2:55)
Lead Vocals - Paul Jones
Written-By - Holland/Dozier/Holland* , R. Dean Taylor
A4 Paula Yates - These Boots Are Made For Walking (2:48)
Backing Vocals - Nancy Boys, The
Double Bass - Jo Dworniak
Guitar [Rhythm] - Nevil 'Breeze' McKreith
Lead Vocals - Paula Yates
Programmed By [Roland System 100] - Ian Craig Marsh , Martyn Ware
Saxophone - David 'Baps' Baptiste
Trombone - Jake
Trumpet - Canute 'Kenny' Wellington
Written-By - Lee Hazelwood
A5 Gary Glitter - Suspicious Minds (3:51)
Backing Vocals - Gerry Shepherd , John Springate , Martyn Ware
Bass [Glitter] - John Springate
Drums [Glitter] - Tony Leonard
Guitar [Glitter] - Gerry Shepherd
Lead Vocals - Gary Glitter
Saxophone [Glitter] - Brian Jones
Written-By - Mark James

B1 Bernie Nolan - You Keep Me Hanging On (2:43)
Bass - John Wilson (2)
Lead Vocals - Bernie Nolan
Piano - Nick Plytas
Written-By - Holland/Dozier/Holland
B2 Glenn Gregory - Wichita Lineman (4:18)
Acoustic Guitar - David Lockwood
Drum Programming [Simmons] - Ian Craig Marsh , Martyn Ware
Lead Vocals - Glenn Gregory
Saxophone - Glenn Gregory , Ian Craig Marsh
Synthesizer [Roland System 100], Sequenced By - Ian Craig Marsh
Synthesizer [Yamaha Cs-20] - Martyn Ware
Written-By - Jimmy Webb
B3 Sandie Shaw - Anyone Who Had A Heart (3:10)
Backing Vocals - Sandie Shaw
Bass - Camelle Hinds
Guitar - Hank Marvin
Lead Vocals - Sandie Shaw
Piano [Grand Bass] - Martyn Ware
Piano [Grand] - Nick Plytas
Saxophone [Alto & Soprano] - David 'Baps' Baptiste
Written-By - Bacharach/David
B4 Glenn Gregory - Perfect Day (4:06)
Drum Programming [Simmons] - Martyn Ware
Lead Vocals - Glenn Gregory
Piano [Grand] - Nick Plytas
Written-By - Lou Reed
B5 Billy MacKenzie - It's Over (2:40)
Acoustic Guitar - John Foxx
Arranged By [Orchestra] - John Barker
Bass - Jo Dworniak
Castanets - Simon Limbrick
Cello - Glyn Perrin
French Horn - Jonathan Williams
Guitar - Hank Marvin
Harp - Helen Tunstall
Lead Vocals - Billy MacKenzie
Timpani - Simon Limbrick
Violin - A.W. Thorpe , Steve Jones , Vicky Aspinall
Written-By - Roy Orbison , Bill Dees

The production arm of early synth-popsters Heaven 17 and occasionally a recording entity in its own right, B.E.F. (or British Electric Foundation) was formed by Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh just after their exit from the original lineup of the Human League. Ware and Marsh had formed the Human League in 1977 as a completely electronic synthesizer band. After adding vocalist Philip Oakey and Adrian Wright, the group released the seminal 1978 single "Being Boiled" and two LPs, 1979's Reproduction and the following year's Travelogue. Late in 1980 however, both Ware and Marsh left the band over disagreements about its musical direction. Eager to avoid repeating the mistakes they felt the Human League were making (and would continue to make), the pair incorporated British Electric Foundation as a production team instead of a band.

During 1980-81, B.E.F. released two instrumental mini-LPs, Music for Stowaways and Music for Listening To (both had several tracks in common). The only track on either release with any type of vocals (and those quite low in the mix) was "Groove Thang," which featured Glenn Gregory, a friend of the duo and a fellow Sheffield resident. By 1981, the three had formed Heaven 17, remade "Groove Thang" into a more vocal-led track named "(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang" and stormed the British charts -- even though the single was banned by the BBC.

Though Heaven 17's success appeared to circumvent the necessity of B.E.F. as actual recording artists, Ware and Marsh returned in 1982 with the first proper B.E.F. full-length, 1982's Music of Quality and Distinction, Vol. 1. The LP featured synth-pop covers of soul standards with vocal contributions from Tina Turner, Gary Glitter, Sandie Shaw, Billy Mackenzie and Gregory himself. One year later, Heaven 17 really hit the big time with the single "Temptation" and their second album, The Luxury Gap. Ware and Marsh decided to work on Heaven 17 full-time, retiring B.E.F. except for production credits on Heaven 17 LPs.
More Information
Format LP
Label Virgin Records