Beethoven ‎– The Five Piano Concertos - Solomon - The Philharmonia Orch. - Herbert Menges - André Cluytens - Classical - 1952-56 Original UK Stereo 4LP Boxset + Booklet

In stock

Beethoven - Solomon, The Philharmonia Orchestra, Herbert Menges, André Cluytens ‎– The Five Piano Concertos

His Master's Voice ‎– SLS 5026, His Master's Voice ‎– OC 177 01698/701
The HMV Treasury –
4 × Vinyl, LP, Box Set

Records are VG+ VG++ they have some light wear (listen to our copy)

Boxset is VG+ has 2 inches of wear on top middle right front cover, corner wear in top right corner, edges of box has some wear (see our pic)

Booklet is VG+ VG++ has some light wear and handwritting in some pages

Records come in original EMI Label plastic inner sleeves




Piano Concerto No. 1 In C Major, Op. 15

A1 First Movement: Allegro Con Brio - Cadenza - Tempo I
A2 Second Movement: Largo


B1 Third Movement: Rondo (Allegro scherzando - Cadenza - Tempo I)

Piano Concerto No. 2 In B Flat Major, Op. 19

B2 First Movement: Allegro Con Brio - Cadenza - Tempo I


C1 Second Movement: Adagio
C2 Third Movement: Rondo (Molto Allegro)



Piano Concerto No. 3 In C Minor, Op. 37

D1 First Movement: Allegro Con Brio - Cadenza (By Clara Schumann) - Tempo I
D2 Second Movement: Largo - Cadenza - Tempo I



E1 Third Movement: Rondo (Allegro - Cadenza - Tempo I - Presto

Piano Concerto No. 4 In G Major, Op. 58

E2 First Movement: Allegro Moderato - Cadenza - Tempo I



F1 Second Movement: Andante Con Moto
F2 Third Movement: Rondo (Vivace - Cadenza - Tempo I - Presto)



Piano Concerto No. 5 In E Flat Major, Op. 73

G1 First Movement: Allegro


H1 Second Movement: Adagio Un Poco Mosso
H2 Third Movement: Rondo (Allegro - Più Allegro)



Conductor – André Cluytens (tracks: B2, C1, C2, E2, F1, F2), Herbert Menges (tracks: A1, A2, B1, D1, D2, E1, G1 to H2)
Orchestra – The Philharmonia Orchestra
Piano – Solomon


The recordings of Piano Concertos Nos. 2, 4, and 5 have been reprocessed electronically from mono recordings to give a stereo effect when played on stereophonic equipment.


The Beethoven,  Piano Concerto No. 1 , which comes from that ideal partnership with Menges, remains one of the best interpretations of this work and confirms my feeling that this is my favourite concerto of the five.  It’s full of Mozartian life but it also presages the deeper works which were about to come forth, especially in this sensitive and ethereal account of the slow movement.  Though recorded in stereo, there’s little directional effect in this transfer but the recording is otherwise beautifully open and tonally very good indeed for its age.

Solomon is one of THE great Beethoven interpreters. Adjectives quail before such playing. 'Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must be silent' concluded Wittgenstein. Here is the mystical being transmitted by the ineffable. A force of genius is at work. So you may purchase safe in the knowledge that for these sublime works you have a trustworthy metaphrast, turning those inky volutes into sound. One could not wish for a safer emissary from the Higher Realm which Beethoven begins to invoke. In both concertos, he is accompanied by the Philharmonia Orchestra. Herbert Menges conducts the 3rd, Andre Cluytens the 4th. The latter carries a smidgeon more fire.

The 3rd: the coda of the first movement is suitably Promethean. Thence the slow movement: the poise!, the weight of the phrasing!, the space given to let the notes hit home! Then those trills in the woodwinds, the brassy descent into the's echt Mozart. And yet Beethoven insists on pulling us away into a sister galaxy, where his unique tonal palette is conjuring strange new geometry. The pizzicato plucks beneath that the piano run - it is Orpheus's harp: 'A god can do it. How do you expect / a man to squeeze on through the lyre and follow?' (Rilke) The return of those trills. The piano coos, coaxed with meaningful - with felt - understanding: the heart expands. An act of Transmission has occurred. Bliss is achieved.

The 4th: Solomon exhibits commanding control of the keyboard. Effortless but not flippant. The 'Sturm und Drang' of the second movement in which a man calls down into the abyss and, for once, the abyss answers back. The piano offers its poignant enquiry into the 'vasty deep'. The cavernous response is like a daemonic string section bowed as one by the Lord of the Flies. The void of mortality. Hearing Vs Silence. Trills and runs are flawless. But again its the weight and the space between the notes...he *feels* what he plays. Transmission occurs. Orpheus sing

More Information
Condition Used
Format Boxset, 4LP
Label EMI
Artist Beethoven
Color Black