Bud Powell ‎– The Complete Blue Note Recordings (1949-1958) - Bop Jazz - Original 5LP Boxset + Booklet

In stock

Bud Powell ‎– The Complete Bud Powell Blue Note Recordings (1949-1958)

Mosaic Records ‎– MR5-116
5 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Box Set, Limited Edition, Numbered

Records are VG++ clean (listen to our copy)

Box is VG+ VG++ has wear in top right front corner and minor wear (See our pic)

Records come in plastic inner sleeves. Includes booklet VG++

Hard cardboard box including 5 LP's and a 20 pages booklet.
Edition of 7,500 copies.
The earliest sets of this release sold were not hand-numbered, as the space for it had been eliminated (see pic). Evidently customer demand caused the label to start numbering box sets once more, though none of the booklets for this LP set have a designated space for a limited edition number.



A1 Bouncing With Bud (Alternate Take #1)
A2 Bouncing With Bud (Alternate Take #2)
A3 Bouncing With Bud
A4 Wail (Alternate Take)
A5 Wail
A6 Dance Of The Infidels (Alternate Take)
A7 Dance Of The Infidels
A8 52nd Street Theme


B1 You Go To My Head
B2 Ornithology
B3 Ornithology (Alternate Take)
B4 Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take #1)
B5 Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take #2)
B6 Un Poco Loco
B7 Over The Rainbow


C1 A Night In Tunisia
C2 A Night In Tunisia (Alternate Take)
C3 It Could Happen To You (Alternate Take)
C4 It Could Happen To You
C4 Parisian Thoroughfare
C6 Autumn In New York
C7 Reets And I


D1 Reets And I (Alternate Take)
D2 Sure Thing
D3 Collard Greens And Black-Eyed Pea (Alternate Take)
D4 Collard Greens And Black-Eyed Peas
D5 Polka Dots And Moonbeams
D6 I Want To Be Happy
D7 Audrey
D8 Glass Enclosure


E1 Blue Pearl
E2 Blue Pearl (Alternate Take)
E3 Keepin' In The Groove
E4 Some Soul
E5 Frantic Fancies


F1 Bud On Bach
F2 Idaho
F3 Don't Blame Me
F4 Moose The Mooche


G1 John's Abbey (Alternate Take)
G2 Sub City (Alternate Take)
G3 Sub City
G4 John's Abbey
G5 Buster Rides Again


H1 Dry Soul
H2 Marmalade
H3 Monopoly
H4 Time Waits


I1 The Scene Changes
I2 Down With It
I3 Comin' Up (Alternate Take)
I4 Comin' Up


J1 Duid Deed
J2 Cleopatra's Dream
J3 Gettin' There
J4 Crossin' The Channel
J5 Danceland
J6 Borderick



Companies, etc.

Recorded At – WOR Studios
Recorded At – Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey


Bass – Curly Russell (tracks: B4 to B6, C1, C2), George Duvivier (tracks: C6 to D8), Paul Chambers (tracks: D1 to E5, F2 to F4, I1 to J6), Sam Jones (tracks: G1 to H4), Tommy Potter (tracks: A1 to B3)
Drums – Philly Joe Jones (tracks: G1 to H4), Art Taylor (tracks: C6 to E5, F2 to F4, I1 to J6), Max Roach (tracks: B4 to B6, C1, C2), Roy Haynes (tracks: A1 to B3)
Engineer – Doug Hawkins (tracks: A1 to D8), Rudy Van Gelder (tracks: E1 to J6)
Piano – Bud Powell
Tenor Saxophone – Sonny Rollins (tracks: A1 to A8)
Trombone – Curtis Fuller (tracks: F2 to F4)
Trumpet – Fats Navarro (tracks: A1 to A8)


A1 to D8 recorded at WOR Studios (mono)
E1 to J6 recorded at The Van Gelder Studios (stereo)

This album presents Powell first in a quintet with Fats "Fat Girl" Navarro, Sonny Rollins,Tommy Potter and Roy Hayes. "Bouncing With Bud","Wail","52'nd Street Theme" and the melodically strong "Dance Of The Infidels" are all prime bop era anthems-with the instrumental conversations between Powell and Sonny Rollins being particularly potent. "You Got To My Head" and "Ornithology" are slower pieces that emphasize Powell's piano more-which leads into the trio sessions with bassist Curley Russell and drummer Max Roach. These numbers "Un Poco Loco","A Night In Tunisia","Parisian Thoroughfare" showcase Powell as a rhythmic player as well as a chordal one on these bouncy Afro-Cuban type numbers. "It Could Happen Here" finds him playing almost purely chordally on a slow swinging ballad.

Near half a century has passed since Bud Powell,George Duvivier and Art Taylor recorded this outstanding session of pure bop, and it's incredible.The music is always as fresh,surprising,and as passionnate as if it had just been played.This music will never be old.

There are a lot of alternate tracks and unissued tracks.And great tunes : beautiful standards like "autumn in New York", ,Oscar Pettiford's blues "collard greens and blackeyed peas",Little Benny Harris' "Reets and I", and Bud's own compositions, including the famous "glass enclosure",and the beautiful "Audrey".

As a child, Bud was fascinated by Bach's music, and this is obvious in his playing.

Too bad he never had the opportunity of recording Bach's repertoire  ,Glenn Gould would have been frightened ! What is there more to say about this album ? That it's one of the most important in the history of jazz ? Yes,of course. Bud was at his best at that time, and mastered all kinds of playing : fast boppish tunes, and very slow tempos on ballads.This is a record you'll play again and again

Bud Powell - Over The Rainbow

It gets so heartbreakingly sweet at 1:41... turns into a thunderstorm at the end, but not before the elegance of 2:11. I patterned so much of my playing after Bud. He's the G.O.A.T.!

More Information
Condition Used
Format Boxset, 5LP
Label Mosaic
Color Black