Delta Spirit - History From Below - 2010 Indie Folk Rock Ltd. Clear LP

In stock

Delta Spirit - History From Below

Label: Dualtone

– 803020-1707-11
Format: Vinyl, LP, Limited Edition, Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl, Gatefold

NEW but opened 
Country: US
Released: 29 Aug 2015
Genre: Rock, Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Indie Rock

A1 9/11
A2 Bushwick Blues
A3 Salt In The Wound
A4 White Table
A5 Ransom Man
A6 Devil Knows Your Dead

B1 Golden State
B2 Scarecrow
B3 Vivian
B4 St. Francis
B5 Ballad Of Vitaly

Additional Keyboards, Percussion – Bo Koster
Guitar – Blake Mills (tracks: A6)
Horns, Horn Arrangement – Brett Wagner (tracks: B4)
Lead Vocals, Guitars, Drums, Keyboards, Percussion, Harmonica – Matthew Vasquez
Pedal Steel – Carl Broemel (tracks: A6)
Vocals – Elijah Thomson
Vocals, Bass Guitar, Drums, Percussion – Jonathan Jameson
Vocals, Drums, Percussion – Brandon Young
Vocals, Keyboards, Guitars, Drums, Percussion, Dronebox, Horn Arrangements – Kelly Winrich

History From Below is an album that should be devoured from beginning to end. It has folk rock tilt and shifts between both even combining the two elements at times. The first album "Ode to Sunshine" had a couple of hits but nothing near the magnitude of History. The songwriting skills of Matt Vasquez are second to none in today's music world and it shows in the progression from debut album to sophomore album. I read somewhere else that the album was based on pieces of Howard Zinn's A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present. Below are brief blips about the songs.
1. 9/11: A fresh blast to the ears and Vasquez's raspy voice takes center stage.
2. Bushwick Blues: One of my favorite songs on the album. This song has rock anthem written all over it. The song will get the blood flowing and the fist pumping.
3. Salt in the Wound: the album slows down after the two rowdy songs before this one. It fits perfectly and is a reflection on good and evil.
4. White Table: drums begin the song and are consistent throughout. This one has some dirty string guitar in it as well like a grunge guitar with a folk theme.
5. Randsom Man: Vocals with a little atmospheric music. This song shows the true range of Vasquez and his emotion bleeds through to the listener.
6. Devil Knows Your Dead: The album begins to pick back up with a simple instrument arrangement. The vocals are once again really strong.
7. Golden State: This song ramps the album back up to full speed. The backing vocals with Vasquez work so well and this song has really grown on me.

A note on songs 8-11. Most of the time I stop listening to an album by this point because the first 7 songs are normally the strongest on the album. This is not the case on History from Below.

8. Scarecrow: there are so many atmospheric sounds going on in this song like airplanes flying overhead, birds chirping, and sounds of cars. This song has an acoustic guitar to go along with the vocals and not much else.
9. Vivian: harmonica begins the song and then it takes off. The vocals flow slowly throughout the song. A heartfelt song about a special someone to the singer.
10. St. Francis: This song is unreal with my foot constantly tapping throughout and me yelling the lyrics. It does a great job for the lead-up to Ballad of Vitaly.
11. Ballad of Vitaly: the true masterpiece on this album at 8 minutes. The song is a gut wrenching tale of revenge and the antagonist is given a chance at redemption that he does not take. This song is unbelievable and should not be missed.

More Information
Condition New
Format LP
Label Dualtone Records
Color Green