Ella Fitzgerald & Duke Ellington ‎– Ella & Duke At The Côte D'Azur - 1967 Jazz 2LP

In stock

Ella Fitzgerald / Duke Ellington ‎– Ella & Duke At The Côte D'Azur

Verve Records ‎– V6-4072-2
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Mack The Knife 4:52
A2 The Old Circus Train Turnaround Blues 11:25
A3 Lullaby Of Birdland 3:52


B1 Trombonio-Bustaso-Issimo 4:02
B2 Going Out Of My Head 3:00
B3 How Long Has This Been Going On? 2:50
B4 Dimuninuendo In Blue And Blow By Blow 7:35


C1 It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) 7:08
C2 All Too Soon 7:40
C3 Misty 3:05


D1 Jazz Samba 5:45
D2 Rose Of The Rio Grande 3:08
D3 The More I See You 3:55
D4 El Viti (The Matador) 4:07
D5 Squeeze Me



Friends more than 30 years and occassional collaborators for half that time, Ella Fitzgerald and Duke Ellington had by 1966 belonged to the world, not simply the jazz world. That meant they exchanged the jazzman's innovative cool for the warm professionalism of devoted crowds and a set list to send them home happy. "You made us sentimental, the way you received our show," Ella actually sings. "We want to squeeze you, don't want to tease you." (This little more than a month and a country away from Bob Dylan's "Royal Albert Hall" concerts, where he teased, enraged, then energized the folk-rock audience).
this set has highlights to spare. Ella loved balladry, and breathes and sips the melodies of Teddy Randazzo's "Goin' Out of My Head," "How Long Has This Been Goin' On?" and especially "The More I See You" like fine chardonnay. Ella pleases the crowd also, with skittering skats on "Lullaby of Birdland" and the trademark "Mack The Knife."
Duke does due diligence also with "It Don't Mean A Thing," but he and his band deliver a loose, rollicking performance highlighted by funky hornplay on "The Old Circus Train Turn-Around Blues," and some fine Johnny Hodges sax work on "Jive Jam." ( amazon customer)

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Label Verve
Color Black