Johnny Cash ‎– The Legend Of - 2005 Country Rock 180 Grm 2LP

In stock

Johnny Cash ‎– The Legend Of Johnny Cash

Island Records ‎– B0021047-01, UMe ‎– B0021047-01, American Recordings ‎– B0021047-01, Columbia ‎– B0021047-01, Legacy ‎– B0021047-01
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, 180 gram
Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Acoustic, Country Rock


A1 Cry! Cry! Cry!
A2 Hey Porter
A3 Folsom Prison Blues
A4 I Walk The Line
A5 Get Rhythm
A6 Big River
A7 Guess Things Happen That Way


B1 Ring Of Fire
B2 Jackson [Duet With] – June Carter
B3 A Boy Named Sue (Live)
B4 Sunday Morning Coming Down
B5 Man In Black


C1 One Piece At A Time
C2 Highwayman [Duet With] – Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson
C3 The Wanderer [Duet With] – U2
C4 Delia's Gone
C5 Rusty Cage


D1 I've Been Everywhere
D2 Give My Love To Rose
D3 The Man Comes Around (Early Take)
D4 Hurt


Companies, etc.

Manufactured By – Universal Music Enterprises
Distributed By – Universal Music & Video Distribution, Corp.
Pressed By – Quality Record Pressings
Lacquer Cut At – Capitol Mastering
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Universal Music Enterprises
Copyright (c) – Universal Music Enterprises


Lacquer Cut By – IS
Producer – Rick Rubin (tracks: C4 to D4)


℗© 2005 Universal Music Enterprises, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc./Sony BMG Music Entertainment. Manufactured by Universal Music Enterprises, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc., 2220 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404 - U.S.A. Distributed by Universal Music & Video Distribution, Corp.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched [MASTERED BY CAPITOL stamped]): B0021047-01-A G1 エ∽ MASTERED BY CAPITOL
Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): B0021047-01-B G1 エ∽
Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, etched [QRP logo stamped]): B0021047-01-C G1 エ∽ [QRP logo]
Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, etched): B0021047-01-D G1 エ∽
Barcode: 6 02537 88815 3

the 21 classic tracks span J.R. Cash's entire career, from his first rockabilly single, "Hey, Porter"/"Cry! Cry! Cry!" (Sun Records, 1955), to his last significant alt-country tracks (American Recordings, 2003). Though Cash had his peaks and valleys in the studio, what shines brightly on this collection is how constant--how unwavering--his creativity remained, whether he was writing and performing original material or interpreting the work of others. His voice, too, remained a majestic thing of wonder, even as Cash often sang off-beat; settled his bass-baritone somewhere around, if not on the note; and cared more about power and emotion than strict rules of measure--something that became especially important as illness changed his great oaken voice into a frail instrument. In this way, he was able to infuse novelty songs ("One Piece at a Time," "A Boy Named Sue") with undeniable cool and maintain the poetry of Kris Kristofferson's "Sunday Morning Coming Down" even in the awful advent of a gloppy, too-peppy string section. Other chestnuts here take on new dimension in retrospect. "Jackson," a duet with wife June Carter Cash, seemed almost comedic ("hotter than a pepper sprout") when it was released, but now reveals the couple's own white-hot sexuality, primarily in June's elegant, if straightahead vocal. The surprise of The Legend of Johnny Cash is how seamlessly the newer material blends with the seminal, and how full-circle it sometimes comes: Soundgarden's "Rusty Cage" doesn't seem markedly different from the quietly defiant songs that Cash defined himself with in the '50s and early '60s. Yet the compilation producers, like Cash himself, saved the best for last. "Hurt," Trent Reznor's poignant meditation on addiction, is devastating as written, but becomes a thing of terrible beauty in the ailing Cash's ravaged, autobiographical delivery. Sequenced as the final cut on the album, it ends with a kind of shocking void; stunning in its intensity, dropping the listener off a cliff of something very akin to grief. No artist, no matter what genre, could have planned a more haunting exit. --Alanna Nash ( amazon)

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP, Gatefold, 180 Gram
Label Columbia
Color Black