Manu Chao - Clandestino - 1998 Reggae Latin-Flavoured Worldbeat Rock 2LP + CD

In stock

Manu Chao - Clandestino

Label: Radio Bemba – none, Because Music – Bec5161605
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold
CD, Album
Country: France
Released: 16 Oct 2013
Genre: Latin, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Pachanga


A1 Clandestino 2:30
A2 Desaparecido 3:47
A3 Bongo Bong 2:38
A4 Je Ne T'Aime Plus 2:02

B1 Mentira... 4:37
B2 Lagrimas De Oro 2:57
B3 Mama Call 2:21

C1 Luna Y Sol 3:07
C2 Por El Suelo 2:21
C3 Welcome To Tijuana 4:04
C4 Dia Luna... Dia Pena 1:30

D1 Malegria 2:55
D2 La Vie À 2 3:00
D3 Minha Galera 2:21
D4 La Despedida 3:09
D5 El Viento 2:26

Bonus Cd

01 Clandestino
02 Desaparecido
03 Bongo Bong
04 Je Ne T'Aime Plus
05 Mentira...
06 Lagrimas De Oro
07 Mama Call
08 Luna Y Sol
09 Por El Suelo
10 Welcome To Tijuana
11 Dia Luna... Dia Pena
12 Malegria
13 La Vie À 2
14 Minha Galera
15 La Despedida
16 El Viento

As one of the driving forces in the French-Spanish ethno-punk band Mano Negra, songwriter-guitarist Chao delivers a surprising solo endeavor. Centered around a simple editorial writing style and an acoustic guitar, this album chronicles his political and personal travels around the world, studying the foibles of life in Latin America and the Caribbean, through Africa and back to Europe. He quotes but never actually plays salsa, son, reggae, Latin pop, and African folk music, all to the service of his songs (written and sung in English, French, and Spanish). The backing is a deceptive hodgepodge of guest artists and collected sounds he has pasted together to service the simple songs he sings. There is a circuslike feel to the whole project, a childlike sense of wonder coupled with a cynical and sometimes sly glance at the "real world." This is a single piece of work, each song bleeding into the next without stopping, a train ride that slows at each station along the way but never stops. It has charm, wit, and depth--a rare and potent combination of virtues for a pop musician.

The first solo album released by the former frontman of Mano Negra, Clandestino is an enchanting trip through Latin-flavored worldbeat rock, reliant on a potpourri of musical styles from traditional Latin and salsa to dub to rock & roll to French pop to experimental rock to techno. Chao's voice tends to be a bit nasally, but the best songs ("Mentira," "Mama Call," and the silly novelty "Bongo Bong") here benefit from his infectious, freewheeling delivery which incorporates balladry, chorus vocals, rapping, and tossed-off spoken-word passages.

If you speak Spanish or French this album is truly a treat. The title track " Clandestino" sets the tone for this international star. This is his first effort since "Mano Negra" broke up their legendary band. In the opening track he brags of his exploits as he travels the world. Chao has a nasal voice that is very entertaining and fits quite nicely with the acoustic guitar work. This troubador has an amazing set of stories to relate to his audience that are highly political and controversial as he deals with subjects that people many times try to avoid.

There are lighter topics such as "Bongo Bong"(in English and French) that is about a person who starts "bangin on my bongo" in the jungle and eventualy migrates to "the big town" to become the "King of Bongo". This song is so catchy and cool that you will play it over and over and it will be ringing in your brain hours later.

All the songs are superb, the production quality is elegant, complete with added narrative and interesting effects. The songs have little interruption between them and they flow beaufifully. Reggae is the dominant style of various musical generes explored and performed with professionalism. This is a tri-lingual treat that is truly international. This is a record that will become a part of you and you will get much play out of it. I've yet to tire of it from it's original release. It has an international revolutionary feel to it. "Mentira" is a haunting track that deals with one of mans deceptive tools, lies, lies about everything including the truth.

There is a beautiful chorus sung by a woman in this song where she breaks out with "LA Llorana" and continues as though speaking through a megaphone with her message. " Welcome to Tijuana" is a hipnotic song where there is "Tekila, Sexo y Marihuana" but the real message is the political manifesto contained within. This is an album to not be missed as it is one of the finest to be released in recent years.

Manu Chao - Clandestino

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Manu Chao - Clandestino (LIVE)

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Manu Chao - Mentira

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Label Because Music
Color Black