Swollen Members - Brand New Day - White Vinyl - 2014 Canada Hip Hop LP

In stock
Swollen Members - Brand New Day

Label: Battle Axe Records / Sony
Cat#: BAT-524
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition
Includes Pic Sleeve
Country: US
Released: 17 Jun 2014
Genre: Hip Hop
Style: Conscious


A1 Intro
A2 Nemesis
A3 Blood Sport
A4 Cock Blocker
A5 Brand New Day
A6 Angel Of Death
A7 Jacques Cousteau
A8 Supernova

B1 Odd Goblins
B2 Park Bench
B3 Power
B4 Creature Of Evil
B5 Jackson Pollock
B6 Cold Sweat
B7 Still Kill

In the middle of Swollen Members’ Brand New Day track, “Supernova,” DJ Revolution provides a scratched chorus partially comprised of Canibus’ “Get Retarded” and Method Man and Redman’s “How High.” From ‘Bis’s boasts to “travel to the end of the universe and beyond” to Red’s claims to survive “when the planets and the stars and the moons collapse,” there’s a nod to an era when rappers like Inspectah Deck used to “bomb atomically.”

In the current climate of melodic R&B/Rap hybrids and other cross-genre blends, such an approach is the Hip Hop equivalent of an endangered species. The abstract wordplay that powered a significant portion of Golden Era Hip Hop may not be trendy anymore, but there’s clearly still an audience for such material.

Through the course of 15 tracks, Swollen Members devote the majority of their time crafting music that audience should appreciate. For those who have been along for the course of the previous nine albums, the title Brand New Day is a bit misleading, as the Vancouver-bred trio provides their familiar brand of technically precise rhymes over dark production. With “Cock Blocker,” Rob The Viking supplies descending horns over a customary combination of snares and kicks, while Madchild offers the following

A Brand New Day has dawned for the Swollen Members. Fortunately for fans, the latest chapter in the Vancouver crew's career involves the same top-tier bars and hard-hitting beats they've been serving up for the past two-plus decades.

Directly following 2013's Beautiful Death Machine, the group's 11th studio album features 15 brand new records from Madchild, Prevail and Rob The Viking. The project's title track (which doubled as the lead single) and follow-up "Power" offer a taste of the dopeness in store.

DJ Makeway and DJ Revolution make guest appearances on the set. Rob the Viking handles all production, except on four tracks that are co-produced by C-Lance.

Swollen Members - Brand New Day

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/yQ6DzDKZ2MA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Swollen Members - Blood Sport

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/tlYoI5uI37Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
More Information
Condition New
Format LP
Label Battle Axe Records