Syd ‎– Fin - 2017 - The Internet - Downtempo Modern Soul 180 Grm LP

In stock

Syd ‎– Fin

Columbia ‎– 0889854207212
Vinyl, LP, Album
07 Apr 2017
Hip Hop, Funk / Soul, Pop
Contemporary R&B


A1 Shake Em Off 2:59
A2 Know 3:34
A3 No Complaints 1:13
A4 Nothin To Somethin 3:29
A5 All About Me 3:31
A6 Smile More 4:01

B1 Got Her Own 3:05
B2 Drown In It 1:10
B3 Body 4:22
B4 Dollar Bills 3:07
B5 Over 3:31
B6 Insecurities 3:25


Barcode and Other Identifiers

Barcode: 889854207212

( pitchfork) "

Fin is, indeed, a fresh start. Stepping away momentarily from the Internet finds her as comfortable and focused as she’s ever sounded. “This is my descent into the depth I want the band to get to,” she told the FADER last year. “For me, this is like an in-between thing—maybe get a song on the radio, maybe make some money, have some new shit to perform.” Working with a variety of superstar producers, like MeLo-X and Hit-Boy, she leans on her different influences—boastful hip-hop, hippie neo-soul, sensual R&B—without ever losing the thread that ties them together: her inventive songwriting and magnetic personality, which leaps from the speakers every time she opens her mouth. Syd has perfected a pose, a slouching shrug and studied distance that makes her appealing, if a little remote. On Fin, it’s better defined than it ever has been.

She uses this bemused vantage point to reinvigorate some R&B archetypes, inhabiting them and winking slightly at the same time. The opening number, “Shake Em Off,” is all dirt-off-your-shoulders bravado: “Young star in the making/Swear they sleeping on me” she sings casually. Track two is called “Know,” and it is an Aaliyah bop, with Syd singing—in the airiest part of her vocal register and over a sputtering beat—about keeping a hook-up hidden away from the public. “Got Her Own” is a playful gay flip on the theme of loving a girl for her independence and ambition. On a quick sensual interlude called “Drown in It,” Syd sounds as proudly nasty as Ty Dolla $ign when she promises to “Swim in it/Dive in it/Drown in it/Hide in it, babe.” And there is “Body,” a minimalist moment that’s sole aim seems to be uncomplicated sensuality; as she told Zane Lowe in a recent interview, she just wanted it to be the “baby-making anthem of 2017.” This is a demonstrably cool album, but it’s hot when it needs to be, and gay listeners (like myself) will be psyched to have songs that are romantic and sexy but do not belabor the fact that they are sung from one woman to another, manifested by an artist who sounds entirely comfortable with her persona and talent.

On the final track, the revealingly titled “Insecurities,” she shows that there is, in fact, another side to her beneath the relaxed exterior: a woman who may sound self-assured, but who gets stuck in the same toxic bullshit that so many of us do, in this case a girl she loves with all her heart who can’t return the favor."

More Information
Condition New
Format LP, 180 Gram
Color Black