Tame Impala - Currents - 2015 Modern Synth Psych Rock - Black Vinyl 2LP

In stock

Tame Impala - Currents

Label: Interscope Records
Cat#: B0023452-01
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, 
Vinyl, LP, black vinyl
All Media, Album, L
Country: US
Released: 17 Jul 2015
Genre: Rock


A1 Let It Happen 7:47
A2 Nangs 1:48
A3 The Moment 4:16

B1 Yes I'm Changing 4:31
B2 Eventually 5:19
B3 Gossip 0:55

C1 The Less I Know The Better 3:39
C2 Past Life 3:48
C3 Disciples 1:49
C4 Cause I'm A Man 4:02

D1 Reality In Motion 4:13
D2 Love / Paranoia 3:07
D3 New Person, Same Old Mistakes 6:02

Manufactured By – Universal Music & Video Distribution
Distributed By – Universal Music & Video Distribution
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Modular Recordings Pty. Ltd.
Copyright (c) – Modular Recordings Pty. Ltd.
Licensed To – Universal Music Australia Pty Ltd
Licensed To – Interscope Records
Recorded At – Poons Head
Mastered At – Sterling Sound
Published By – Sony ATV
Published By – BMG Chrysalis
Pressed By – United Record Pressing


A&R – Glen Goetze
Artwork, Design – Robert Beatty
Design Concept [Cover Concept] – Kevin Parker
Mastered By – Greg Calbi
Mastered By [Vinyl] – RJ
Photography By – Matthew C. Saville
Recorded By [Additional Recording], Mixed By [Mix Advice] – Rob Grant
Songwriter, Producer, Recorded By, Mixed By – Kevin Parker
Vocals [All Vocals], Instruments [All Instruments] – Kevin Parker

Gatefold sleeve.

Manufactured and distributed in the United States by Universal Music & Video Distribution. © 2015 Modular Recordings Pty Ltd under exclusive license to Universal Music Australia Pty Ltd under exclusive license to interscope records in the United States.

Additional recording and mix advice by Rob Grant at Poons Head.

Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.

Published by Sony ATV (Australia) / BMG Chrysalis (ROW).

it wasn't until I heard their song 'Let It Happen' that they had my full attention. It was one of the most epic and catchy electronic rock songs I've heard in recent years. So I read up on the mastermind behind the band Kevin Parker and his comments regarding this album. I was especially intrigued by the fact that it was basically abandoning the psychedelic rock nature or their previous efforts in favor of more synths and electronic aspects. Then behold the song 'Eventually' was released. Probably one of the greatest songs of all time.

1. Let It Happen: As I said, this is an epic synth dance disco rock song. The main synth riff is so urgent and infectious. In fact this entire song has a feeling of urgency as if one was being chased by bad guys throughout a maze like dance floor. At nearly 8 minutes it has more replay value than most 3 minute songs I've heard recently. There is just a bit guitar in here so don't worry if you were concerned that there would be no guitar at all. The final half of the song gets almost robotic in the vein of Daft Punk perfectly. This is also one of my new workout playlist tracks for the gym! Amazing song. 10/10

2. Nangs: This is a short cut. At first I thought it was going to be an interlude but its just a quick song. It's very trippy and layered with repeated vocals throughout. There's something soothing about it that makes me wish it lasted longer. Still very dreamlike. 9/10

3. The Moment: Another upbeat disco rock track. The repeated synth riff is simple and genius. There are atmospheric sounds faintly in the background that seem like faint orchestrated parts. Kevin sings in a relaxed voice throughout with infectious wit. The lyrics are very nice too. There is also an interesting synth solo that sounds exotic. 9.5/10

4. Yes I'm Changing: Things slow down for this very emotional and masterfully executed ballad. This is probably Kevins best vocal performance yet. I never thought he could sing like this. This should be a single. The lyrics are very reflecting. The production really makes you get lost in the soundscape. The final minute change tone to somewhat gothic keyboards ending the song in a hauntingly beautiful manner. A perfect song. 11/10

5. Eventually: Another perfect song. As I said earlier this is one of the best songs of all time in my opinion. It's a break up song, but from the point of view of the person doing the breaking up. The harsh but tuneful synth riff throughout is tragic and gorgeous. There are sudden stops throughout that just work so well. The vocals of course are emotional and almost remorseful to the lyrics. Its a sad song for a break up. I suggest you not listen to it during a bad break up. Still a masterpiece of a song. The final part of the song features this synth riff that just leaves me in near tears each time no matter my mood. I'm surprised this hasn't become a mega hit(yet) as it's also the catchiest song on an album full of catchy tracks. A beautiful emotional tour de force track that I would call the Song Of The Year. 11/10

6. Gossip: The synth of this song sounds like what its title suggest. It's as if the sounds are gossiping to each other. Very clever short interlude. 9/10

7. The Less I Know The Better: This one features more of the disco rock style. The guitars are back again with a funky groove throughout along with Kevins fun vocals despite the tone of the lyrics. The final verse of the song sounds like it should've been a chorus for the song its so playful and sad. A great unconventional possible hit! 9.5/10

8. Past Life: This is just amazing. The verses are spoken word and tell such a beautiful story about a past love. The chorus is sung in heavenly manner. Though at first some might be off put by the effect put on Kevins voice during the verses it actually feels like it couldn't work without it once you get used to the song. Very dreamy and heartbreaking yet it ends on a positive note. 10/10

9. Disciples: Another really short song. Not an interlude. Just a quick and awesome song. Its a nice fast song and I understand why its so short, but I wouldn't mind if it was twice as long either. Oh well that's what the replay button is for! 9/10

10. 'Cause I'm A Man: This is the closest thing to the psychedelic style but also in tune with the rest of the album. It's a very relaxing and empowering song. I was impressed but it's not my favorite on the album. Maybe it'll be yours though. 8.5/10

11. Reality In Motion: I like the laid back playful tone of Kevins singing again on this song. He makes it seem so effortless. It's a real head bobbing song. Of course like most of the songs it changes style a bit toward the end. There's even a slight guitar near the finale. Very nice. 9/10

12. Love/Paranoia: Wow. Can this guy do no wrong? Just as the title suggest this one is full of love and paranoia in its sound and lyrics. It also a slight R&B feel that is pulled off almost too nicely. Very emotional too. Less than 30 seconds to the end it gets a so good with guitars and orchestration that I wish it lasted much longer. Dare I say it? Another perfect song. 10/10

13. New Person, Same Old Mistakes: The album began epic and fast. It ends epic and somewhat slow, in a good way. This song just has such a classy vibe to it. Everything about this song is smooth from the production to the style of the singing. This sounds like the perfect song to listen to while walking down a cityscape while wearing your best suit or dress with your head held up high. It's a very mysterious song as well. A great way to close this emotional album. 10/10

Tame Impala - Eventually

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GHe8kKO8uds" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Tame Impala - Let It Happen

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/-ed6UeDp1ek" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Tame Impala - Yes I'm Changing

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/5SncwCUnYcY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Label Interscope