Taylor Swift – Folklore - 2020 Indie Pop- Beige "In The Trees" Vinyl - Sealed 2LP

In stock
Taylor Swift – Folklore
Republic Records – B0032752-01
2 x Vinyl, LP, Deluxe Edition, Stereo, Beige "In The Trees"
Housed in a gatefold jacket.
Includes printed inner sleeves with lyrics.
Album and track titles stylized in lowercase on release.
Different from the 2020 standard brown pressing, as the 2020 release was pressed on brown vinyl and this 2021 release is pressed on beige vinyl.
Jul 23, 2021
Rock, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Vocal, Indie Pop, Indie Rock, Ballad
A1 The 1
A2 Cardigan
A3 The Last Great American Dynasty
A4 Exile (Featuring Bon Iver)
B1 My Tears Ricochet
B2 Mirrorball
B3 Seven
B4 August
B5 This Is Me Trying
C1 Illicit Affairs
C2 Invisible String
C3 Mad Woman
C4 Epiphany
D1 Betty
D2 Peace
D3 Hoax
Bonus Track
D4 The Lakes
( pitchfork) " The phantom pang of missing someone before you ever meet them is an emotion worthy of its own word. That fated feeling of love and the passage of time is the theme that runs between Carly Rae Jepsen’s smash hit “Call Me Maybe” and the National’s antisocial romance “Slow Show”; it’s also the kind of thing Taylor Swift might write about. One of the loveliest tracks on folklore, the surprise album the singer-songwriter made primarily with the National’s guitarist Aaron Dessner, stands out for a strangely similar reason: a thread connecting two strangers that exists long before either realizes it’s there. “And isn’t it just so pretty to think/All along there was some/Invisible string/Tying you to me,” she sings on the delightfully plucky “invisible string,” simultaneously recalling famous lines from Jane Eyre and The Sun Also Rises.
folklore will forever be known as Taylor Swift’s “indie” album, a sweater-weather record released on a whim in the blue heat of this lonely summer, filled with cinematic love songs in search of a film soundtrack...
With folklore’s teen heartbreak trilogy, Swift circles the same affair from each party’s differing view. “betty” is the story of 17-year-old James trying to win back his girlfriend after cheating, a familiar crime rendered new by the narrator’s genuine remorse and belief in a love regained. It has the youthful hope of a song like “Wide Open Spaces,” yet is noticeably wiser (and queerer) than the high school romances Swift wrote as an actual teenager. First single “cardigan” is told by Betty, whose disillusionment with James results in a sad, sensuous sound reminiscent of Lana Del Rey, down to the vocal style and casual lyrical quotation of another pop song. But the songs’ overlapping details and central framing device—of a cardigan forgotten and found without a second thought—are pure Swift, an instant memory portal not unlike the scarf in Red’s “All Too Well.” (The cutesy marketing angle for “cardigan” is reliably Swiftian as well.) And even though “august” is considered to be the third in the trilogy, the record’s most tender, saccharine love story plays out during “illicit affairs.” “You taught me a secret language I can’t speak with anyone else,” she sings. “And you know damn well for you I would ruin myself.” The scenes and perspectives evoked by these songs alone speak volumes about Swift’s evolution as a songwriter." 
More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Color Black