The Internet ‎– Hive Mind - 2018 R+B Modern Soul 2LP

In stock

The Internet ‎– Hive Mind

Columbia ‎– 19075861921
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
20 Jul 2018
Hip Hop, Funk / Soul
Contemporary R&B


A1 Come Together
A2 Roll (Burbank Funk)
A3 Come Over


B1 La Di Da
B2 Stay The Night
B3 Bravo
B4 Mood


C1 Next Time / Humble Pie
C2 It Gets Better (With Time)
C3 Look What U Started


D1 Wanna Be
D2 Beat Goes On
D3 Hold On


Includes digital download.
Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode (Scanned): 190758619217

" Her quiet turns are even leaner than in the past, jumping straight into the action. “Thinking ahead of time/Why don’t you spend the night/I know you love me,” she sings on the nearly seven-minute closer “Hold On.” “We can book a flight/Wake up in paradise/Sun up above us.” These are cut-to-the-chase expressions of interest that are frank about exactly what Syd is after; blunt even for a woman who once sang, “I can read your mind even from behind/And fuck what’s in your phone, lemme take you home.” There is significantly less room for small talk, for being clever. “This back and forth is energy wasted,” she explains on “Next Time.” Even when there’s friction, she’s only willing to spare but so many words.

So much of the Internet’s appeal is still wrapped up in Syd’s vocals, which smear across hard, smacking basslines and rap-savvy drum programming. Sometimes her voice is a whimper, other times her volume is barely louder than a hum; both enhance her tales of intimacy. The accelerated relationship timeline of “Mood” is presented in tiny, evocative vignettes that Syd teases out across dribbling, staccato croons. Through breathy, low-toned melodies, “Wanna Be” plots on turning a longtime friend into a lover: “I think she wants to be [my girl],” she sighs. “At least I hope she does, shit.” With Syd as their laconic storyteller, navigating modern romances and late-night temptation, the band is mastering the funk jam as a nocturne.

There isn’t a single note or riff on the album that feels contrived or forced, and the entire thing is incredibly smooth and unsegmented, an endless string of hook-ups blurring together. Steve Lacy sings more, Martians serves as the band’s utility player (keyboard on some songs, drums on others, even contributing the occasional synth line), and everyone else contributes in ways beyond their official position within the band. The aim is to have everything happen as naturally as possible, “like, ‘Who has a drum loop they’ve made? Pull it out, let’s put some chords over it and go from there!’” Syd told Entertainment Weekly. This egalitarian spirit and anti-hierarchical approach to song-making fuel the sleekest, most robust music of their career." ( pitchfork)

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Label Sony Music
Color Black