The National ‎– I Am Easy To Find - 2019 Indie Alt Rock 180 Grm 2LP

In stock

The National ‎– I Am Easy To Find
4AD ‎– 4AD0154LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, 180g

Standard black 180g heavyweight vinyl, gatefold sleeve. Colour printed card inners.
24 page staple bound rectangular booklet of lyrics and credits.
The sleeve is housed in a clear plastic outer 'envelope' with the Album title printed on it.
Embossed cover and inner sleeves.
17 May 2019
Alternative Rock


A1 You Had Your Soul With You
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Gail Ann Dorsey

A2 Quiet Light
A3 Roman Holiday
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Gail Ann Dorsey

A4 Oblivions
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Mina Tindle



B1 The Pull Of You
Vocals [Featured Vocalists] – Lisa Hannigan, Sharon Van Etten

B2 Hey Rosey
Producer [Additional Production, Cincinnati] – Curt KiserVocals [Featured Vocalist] – Gail Ann Dorsey

B3 I Am Easy To Find
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Kate Stables

B4 Her Father In The Pool
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Brooklyn Youth Chorus



C1 Where Is Her Head
C2 Not In Kansas
Vocals [Featured Vocalists] – Gail Ann Dorsey, Kate Stables, Lisa HanniganWritten-By [Noble Experiment Interpolation] – Anne Eickelberg, Brian Hageman, Hugh Swarts, Jay Paget, Mark Davies

C3 So Far So Fast
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Lisa Hannigan

C4 Dust Swirls In Strange Light
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Brooklyn Youth Chorus



D1 Hairpin Turns
Producer [Additional Production, Cincinnati] – Curt KiserVocals [Featured Vocalist] – Gail Ann Dorsey, Lisa Hannigan

D2 Rylan
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Kate Stables

D3 Underwater
Vocals [Featured Vocalist] – Brooklyn Youth Chorus

D4 Light Years




"Not In Kansas" contains an interpolation of "Noble Experiment" originally performed by Thinking Fellers Union Local 282
on the album Strangers From The Universe (BMI) Used by permission. All rights reserved.

"The album’s guest roster shores up the National’s greatest critical vulnerability—the myopic white, male vantage—so conveniently that it’s tempting to read it as cynical. In interviews, the band has been more than a little defensive about the choice, insisting it wasn’t made out of some patronizing notion of allyship. It’s the execution, though, that casts aside doubts. These women aren’t window dressing, they’re focal points, and each subtly redirects the music to previously unexplored directions. They approach these songs from the most daring angles of attack, creating an air of unpredictability that even 2017’s electronics-laced Sleep Well Beast couldn’t sustain. Their presence also turns the lyrics, some written by Berninger’s wife Carin Besser, from a monologue into a conversation. The competing perspectives seem to humble the singer, challenging him and shaking him from his own head. “I know I can get attached and then unattached to my own versions of others,” he concedes on “The Pull of You.”

All those outside voices aren’t the only reason I Am Easy To Find can feel like a remix of a National album. Just as those strong collaborators seize the control away from the band, so has the record’s producer Mike Mills, a director by trade who incorporated some of this music into a tear-jerking short filmof the same name. In the band’s telling, Mills wasn’t shy about editing their work, often stripping songs of the elements the band was most excited about (that may be why so few of Sleep Well Beasts’ U2-isms have carried through). So although the album is the band’s biggest yet, with a cast of dozens including 13 violinists alone, it rarely feels bulky. Only the too-Arcade-Fire-for-comfort “Where Is Her Head” succumbs to grandiosity, prioritizing spectacle over purpose.

At 64 minutes, I Am Easy To Find is also the National’s longest album, which is a mixed blessing. It provides room to luxuriate and admire all these guest voices as the art pieces they are while getting sucked into unhurried treasures like “Quiet Light” and “Oblivions,” both among the band’s most weightless and sublime."( pitchfork)

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Label 4AD
Color Black