Tower Of Power ‎– Soul Side Of Town - 2018 Modern Soul Funk 180 Grm 2LP

In stock

Tower Of Power ‎– Soul Side Of Town

Mack Avenue Records ‎– ART7059LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Gatefold Jacket
Includes Digital Download

01 Jun 2018
Funk / Soul


A1 East Bay! All Day! 0:55
A2 Hangin' With My Baby 5:28
A3 Do You Like That? 4:37
A4 On The Soul Side Of Town 6:40



B1 Do It With Soul 3:53
B2 Love Must Be Patient And Kind 4:40
B3 Butter Fried 5:28



C1 Selah 4:48
C2 Let It Go 4:22
C3 Stop 4:24



D1 When Love Takes Control 4:11
D2 After Hours 3:33
D3 Can't Stop Thinking About You 4:54
D4 East Bay! Oakland Style! 1:15



Companies, etc.
Marketed By – Artistry Music
Distributed By – Artistry Music
Backing Vocals – Leah Meux (tracks: #2-4 and 9), Melanie Jackson-Cracchiolo, Tiwana Porter (tracks: #2-4 and 9)
Baritone Saxophone – Stephen Kupka
Bass Guitar – Francis Rocco Prestia
Bass Saxophone – Chuck Hansen
Drums – David Garibaldi
Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar, Baritone Guitar, Sitar, Backing Vocals – Jerry Cortez
Keyboards – Joe Vannelli
Keyboards, Organ – Roger Smith (6)
Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Scott Marcus (4)
Tenor Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute – Tom Politzer
Tenor Saxophone, Backing Vocals – Emilio Castillo
Trombone, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Ray Greene
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Adolfo Acosta, Sal Cracchiolo


Tower of Power - the most dynamic and distinctive band of survivors in Soul Music – is roaring into its unprecedented 50th anniversary with a dynamic album of all new material. A labor of love, definitively titled Soul Side of Town, this package is charged with 14 filler-free songs. As always, the songs on Tower of Power’s Soul Side of Town were primarily composed by the hit-making team of founding members Emilio Castillo and Stephen “Doc” Kupka who also hold down the world famous 5-man Tower of Power Horns. For the special occasion of Tower of Power’s 50th anniversary, leader Emilio Castillo brought in a most-astute choice in co-producer, Joe Vannelli in addition to mastering engineer Bernie Grundman. Along with the legendary rhythm section drums and bass lock of David Garibaldi and Francis Rocco Prestia, respectively, T.O.P. consists of guitarist Jerry Cortez, Hammond B3 organist/keyboardist Roger Smith, 1st tenor saxophonist Tom Politzer, and trumpeters Adolfo Acosta and Sal Cracchiolo. Soul Side of Town is also blessed with not one but two lead singers: outgoing Ray Greene and incoming Marcus Scott (boldly introduced on several selections, including “Hangin' With My Baby”). The 10-piece Tower of Power band is prepared to throw down with a celebratory tour that will include sweet spots around the globe.

( soultracks) " Soul Side of Town, a fun and well-balanced collection of instrumentals, ballads, funky up-tempo tunes and bluesy mid-tempo numbers. The lead vocalist has an honored spot in TOP history. It has been held by men such as Rick Stevens and Lenny Williams, who sealed their legends with their work on “You’re Still a Young Man” and “So Very Hard To Go” respectively. Uber-talented lead singer Marcus Scott shines on Soul Side of Town’s three ballads, and especially on “Let It Go,” a lush brassy track on which the baritone bringing vulnerability and pathos while trying to explain why the perfect woman is not perfect for him.

“Do You Like That” is a joyous number that features the trademark horns and a thick and bouncy bass line that is a celebration of taking your lady out for a night on the town, while the funky and blues of the title track is an homage to those clubs with a reputation for a great atmosphere and even better music. “Butter Fried” is an instrumental that allows the band to flex its funk, blues and jazz chops, as it features solos on the electric organ, and call and response between sax and horn that draws its inspiration from the big band era."

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP, 180 Gram
Color Black