Yo-Yo Ma ‎– Six Evolutions - Bach: Cello Suites - 2017 Classical - Trifold Cover 180 Grm 3LP

In stock

Yo-Yo Ma ‎– Six Evolutions - Bach: Cello Suites

Sony Classical ‎– 19075854651
3 × Vinyl, LP

Tri-fold jacket, 180 Grm Vinyl

14 Sep 2018




Side 1

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 1 In G Major, BWV 1007
A1 Prélude 2:30
A2 Allemande 4:15
A3 Courante 2:34
A4 Sarabande 2:30
A5 Menuets I & II 3:27
A6 Gigue 1:57




Side 2

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 2 In D Minor, BWV 1008
B1 Prélude 4:12
B2 Allemande 3:27
B3 Courante 1:48
B4 Sarabande 4:07
B5 Menuets I & II 3:01
B6 Gigue 2:27




Side 3

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 3 In C Major, BWV 1009
C1 Prélude 3:14
C2 Allemande 3:44
C3 Courante 3:08
C4 Sarabande 3:36
C5 Bourées I & II 3:39
C6 Gigue 2:57




Side 4

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 4 In E-flat Major, BWV 1010
D1 Prélude 4:52
D2 Allemande 4:23
D3 Courante 3:51
D4 Sarabande 4:08
D5 Bourées I & II 4:56
D6 Gigue 3:02





Side 5

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 5 In C Minor, BWV 1011
E1 Prélude 6:37
E2 Allemande 5:46
E3 Courante 2:08
E4 Sarabande 3:10
E5 Gavottes I & II 4:28
E6 Gigue 2:47





Side 6

Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 6 In D Minor, BWV 1012
F1 Prélude 4:44
F2 Allemande 6:39
F3 Courante 3:51
F4 Sarabande 4:01
F5 Gavottes I & II 3:38
F6 Gigue 3:45




Companies, etc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sound Postings LLC
Copyright (c) – Sound Postings LLC
Distributed By – Sony Music Entertainment
Recorded At – Mechanics Hall, Worcester, MA
Cello, Liner Notes – Yo-Yo Ma
Composed By – Johann Sebastian Bach
Engineer – Richard King
Executive-Producer – Jonathan Bays
Liner Notes – Michael Stern
Photography By – Jason Bell
Producer – Steve Epstein




Recorded at Mechanics Hall, Worcester, MA • December 12-15, 2017.



Barcode and Other Identifiers

Barcode: 0190758546513


( classical source) " 

The dances all maintain a winning alacrity in their rhythms, despite Bach’s sometimes filigree lines which can easily become amorphous, especially in the ‘Allemandes’. That of No.1 creates a sense of each phrase posing a question, even as one seems to answer its predecessor so that a constantly unfolding progression occurs. Other instances are more straightforwardly witty, as in No.4, or in the case of No.3, the way in which Ma treats even so innocuous a figure as the little groups of demisemiquavers and semiquavers either by delaying them slightly, or emphasising them almost as though dotted, is indicative of the subtle and imaginative means he uses to drive the music on.

With their contrasting meters and tempos, ‘Courantes’ and ‘Sarabandes’ flow seamlessly, or at least do not become an unseemly dash, such as the ‘Courante’ of No.2 which is otherwise played furiously but not without purpose. The pairs of dances which Bach alternates at the Suites’ centre tend to take on more flair with their characteristic motifs and rhythms, but even so, each work maintains a valid consistency – and therefore the cycle as a whole – through the paradoxical fact that these performances sound both deeply considered yet spontaneous. Intimacy is aided by the closeness of the recording and the fact that the playing is not warmly resonant  but is variously earthy or reedy." 

More Information
Condition New
Format 3LP, Gatefold, 180 Gram
Label Sony Music
Color Black